Primary Election 2018

Election 2018

Most of the policy and funding that affects our students and teachers directly is decided by our state Legislature, with additional funding and policy decisions made by the U.S. Congress. Therefore, it’s crucial that we step up and elect friends of schools who will fight for free, democratic public schools in our communities, as well as the resources and policies to help them thrive.

The first step is to vote for friends of public education in the March 6 Texas primaries.

(See our list of endorsed candidates below.)


And Here are some of the issues that will define true friends of public education:

Important Dates

Feb. 5:
Last day to register to vote

Feb. 20:
Early voting begins

March 2:
Early voting ends

March 6:
Election Day

Election Information


School Bus and Kids

Adequate and equitable school funding
And making the state pay its fair share to alleviate rising property taxes
(Candidates should support)

Secure retirement for public employees
(Candidates should support)
Send a letter to TRS Board members now!

Health care for school employees Health care for active and retired school employees  
(Candidates should support)
Send an online letter to lawmakers now!
Bubble sheet State testing, test-based sanctions, and A-F ratings
(Candidates should support changes)
Private-school Private-school vouchers
(Candidates should oppose)
Charter school

Charter school expansion
(Candidates should oppose)

More Ways to Get Involved…

Texas AFT recommends these friends of public education and educators

Contested Races in March 6 Primaries

Need to know your district and who currently represents you? Check here.

U.S. House of Representatives

(CD = U.S. Congressional District)

CD 16: Veronica Escobar, D-El Paso

CD 29: Sylvia Garcia, D-Houston

CD 33: Marc Veasey, D-Fort Worth

Lieutenant Governor

Scott Milder, R-Rockwall

Mike Collier, D-Houston

State Board of Education

District 2: Ruben Cortez, D-Brownsville

Texas Senate

(SD = State Senate District)

SD 10: Beverly Powell, D-Burleson

SD 15: John Whitmire, D-Houston

SD 16: Nathan Johnson, D-Dallas

SD 17: Kristin Tassin, R-Missouri City

SD 25: Shannon McClendon, R-Dripping Springs

SD 30: Craig Estes, R-Wichita Falls

SD 31: Kel Seliger, R-Amarillo

Texas House of Representatives

(HD = State House District)

HD 2: Dan Flynn, R-Van

HD 4 (dual): Ashley McKee, R-Eustace and Keith Bell, R-Forney

HD 6: Ted Kamel, R-Tyler

HD 8 (dual): Cody Harris, R-Palestine, and Linda Timmerman, R-Corsicana

HD 9: Chris Paddie, R-Marshall

HD 14: John Raney, R-Bryan

HD 15: Jackie Waters, R-The Woodlands

HD 27: Ron Reynolds, D-Missouri City

HD 31: Ryan Guillen, D-Rio Grande City

HD 37: Rene Oliveira, D-Brownsville

HD 41: Bobby Guerra, D-McAllen

HD 54: Scott Cosper, R-Killeen

HD 55: Hugh Shine, R-Temple

HD 59: J.D. Sheffield, R-Gatesville

HD 60: Jim Largent, R-Granbury

HD 64: Lynn Stucky, R-Sanger

HD 75: Mary Gonzalez, D-Clint

HD 87: Four Price, R-Amarillo

HD 88: Ken King, R-Canadian

HD 99: Charlie Geren, R-Fort Worth

HD 100: Eric Johnson, D-Dallas

HD 104: Roberto Alonzo, D-Dallas

HD 105: Terry Meza, D-Irving

HD 106: Clint Bedsole, R-Frisco

HD 115: Julie Johnson, D-Dallas

HD 116: Diana Arevalo, D-San Antonio

HD 117: Philip Cortez, D-San Antonio

HD 118: Tomas Uresti, D-San Antonio

HD 121: Steve Allison, R-San Antonio

HD 122: Lyle Larson, R-San Antonio

HD 124: Ina Minjarez, D-San Antonio

HD 126: Sam Harless, R-Houston

HD 127: Dan Huberty, R-Houston

HD 138: Jenifer Rene Pool, D-Houston

HD 139: Jarvis Johnson, D-Houston

HD 142: Harold Dutton, D-Houston

HD 146: Shawn Thierry, D-Houston

HD 147: Garnet Coleman, D-Houston

HD 150: James Wilson, R-Houston

pol. adv. pd. by Texas AFT COPE