The Attack on Teacher Pay, Contract Rights: How They Voted in the Texas Legislature

As promised, here’s the lowdown on the key vote cast on Monday, June 27, by Texas senators and representatives on SB 8, the bill that authorizes school districts to impose unpaid furloughs and percentage pay cuts on teachers and other certified professional personnel and that also takes away important contract rights. (Click here to see a summary of major provisions of SB 8 from our Tuesday, June 28, Hotline.)

In the Texas Senate, the final vote to pass SB 8 was 19 to 11.  All 19 Republican senators voted for this attack on the pay and contract rights of educators:

Brian Birdwell of Granbury; John Carona of Dallas; Robert Deuell of Greenville; Robert Duncan of Lubbock; Kevin Eltife of Tyler; Craig Estes of Wichita Falls; Troy Fraser of Horseshoe Bay; Chris Harris of Arlington; Glenn Hegar of Katy; Joan Huffman of Southside Place (Harris County); Mike Jackson of La Porte; Jane Nelson of Flower Mound; Robert Nichols of Jacksonville; Steve Ogden of Bryan; Dan Patrick of Houston; Kel Seliger of Amarillo; Florence Shapiro of Plano (author of SB 8); Jeff Wentworth of San Antonio; and Tommy Williams of The Woodlands.

Eleven of the 12 Texas Senate Democrats voted to defend you against the SB 8 attack on educators’ pay and rights:

Wendy Davis of Fort Worth; Rodney Ellis of Houston; Mario Gallegos of Houston; Juan Hinojosa of McAllen; Eddie Lucio of Brownsville; Jose Rodriguez of El Paso; Carlos Uresti of San Antonio; Leticia Van de Putte of San Antonio; Kirk Watson of Austin; John Whitmire of Houston; Judith Zaffirini of Laredo.

One Democratic senator was absent:  Royce West of Dallas.

In the House, the final vote to pass SB 8 was 80 to 63.  The 80 House members, all of them Republicans, who voted for the attack on teacher pay and contract rights were, according to the House Journal:

Jose Aliseda of Beeville; Charles Anderson of Waco; Rodney Anderson of Grand Prairie; Jimmy Don Aycock of Killeen; Marva Beck of Centerville; Leo Berman of Tyler; Dennis Bonnen of Angleton; Dan Branch of Dallas; Cindy Burkett of Mesquite; Angie Chen Button of Richardson; Erwin Cain of Como; Bill Callegari of Houston; Warren Chisum of Pampa; Wayne Christian of Nacogdoches; Byron Cook of Corsicana; Tom Craddick of Midland; Brandon Creighton of Conroe; Myra Crownover of Lake Dallas; John Davis of Houston; Sarah Davis of Houston; Rob Eissler of The Woodlands (House author of SB 8); Gary Elkins of Houston; Allen Fletcher of Tomball; Dan Flynn of Canton; John Frullo of Lubbock; John Garza of San Antonio; Charlie Geren of River Oaks; Larry Gonzales of Round Rock; Kelly Hancock of Fort Worth; Rick Hardcastle of Vernon; Patricia Harless* of Spring; Linda Harper-Brown of Irving; Will Hartnett of Dallas; Harvey Hilderbran of Kerrville; Charlie Howard* of Sugar Land; Dan Huberty of Humble; Bryan Hughes of Marshall; Todd Hunter of Corpus Christi; Jason Isaac of Dripping Springs; Jim Jackson of Carrollton; Jim Keffer of Granbury; Phil King of Weatherford; Tim Kleinschmidt of Lexington; Lois Kolkhorst of Brenham; John Kuempel of Seguin; Lyle Larson of San Antonio; Jodie Laubenberg of Rockwall; George Lavender of Texarkana; Ken Legler of Pasadena; Lanham Lyne of Wichita Falls; Jerry Madden of Plano; Dee Margo of El Paso; Doug Miller of New Braunfels; Sid Miller of Stephenville; Geanie Morrison of Victoria; Jim Murphy of Houston; Barbara Nash of Arlington; Rob Orr of Burleson; John Otto of Dayton; Tan Parker of Flower Mound; Ken Paxton of McKinney; Charles Perry of Lubbock; Walter “Four” Price of Amarillo; Charles Schwertner of  Georgetown; Connie Scott of Corpus Christi; Kenneth Sheets of Dallas; Ralph Sheffield of Temple; Mark Shelton of Fort Worth; David Simpson of Longview; Todd Smith of Bedford; Wayne Smith of Baytown; John Smithee of Amarillo; Burt Solomons of Carrollton; Larry Taylor of League City; Vicki Truitt of Southlake; Randy Weber of Pearland; Beverly Woolley of Houston; Paul Workman of Spicewood (Austin); Bill Zedler of Arlington, and John Zerwas of Simonton.

[Reps. Patricia Harless and Charlie Howard were shown as voting yes on SB 8, but they placed statements in the House Journal declaring they actually intended to vote no.]

As is the custom for the House speaker except in rare instances, Joe Straus of San Antonio was shown as “present, not voting.”

Six members were shown as “absent-excused” on this key vote. These included three Democrats (Rafael Anchia of Dallas, Eddie Lucio III of Harlingen, and Barbara Mallory Caraway of Dallas) and three Republicans (Dwayne Bohac of Houston, Joe Driver of Dallas, and Van Taylor of Plano).

The honor roll of 63 members who voted to defend you by voting no on SB 8 on final passage included 17 Republicans and 46 Democrats. The 17 Republicans against the SB 8 attack on teacher pay and contracts were:

Fred Brown of Bryan; Stefani Carter of Dallas; Drew Darby of San Angelo; Lance Gooden of Terrell; Mike Hamilton of Mauriceville; Chuck Hopson of Jacksonville; Susan King of Abilene; Jim Landtroop of Plainview; Tryon Lewis of Odessa; Diane Patrick of Arlington: Aaron Pena of Edinburg; Larry Phillips of Sherman; Jim Pitts of Waxahachie; Debbie Riddle of Houston; Allan Ritter of Nederland; Raul Torres of Corpus Christi; and James White of Woodville.

The 46 Democrats who stood up for you in opposition to SB 8 on final passage were:

Alma Allen of Houston; Roberto Alonzo of Dallas; Carol Alvarado of Houston; Lon Burnam of Fort Worth; Joaquin Castro of San Antonio; Garnet Coleman of Houston; Yvonne Davis of Dallas; Joe Deshotel of Port Arthur; Dawnna Dukes of Austin; Harold Dutton of Houston; Craig Eiland of Galveston; Joe Farias of San Antonio; Jessica Farrar of Houston; Pete Gallego of Alpine; Helen Giddings of Dallas; Veronica Gonzales of McAllen; Naomi Gonzalez of El Paso; Ryan Guillen of Rio Grande City; Roland Gutierrez of San Antonio; Ana Hernadez Luna of Houston; Scott Hochberg of Houston; Donna Howard of Austin; Eric Johnson of Dallas; Tracy King of Eagle Pass; J.M. Lozano of Harlingen; Marisa Marquez of El Paso; Armando Martinez of Weslaco; Trey Martinez Fischer of San Antonio; Ruth Jones McClendon of San Antonio; Jose Menendez of San Antonio; Borris Miles of Houston; Sergio Munoz Jr. of Mission; Elliott Naishtat of Austin; Rene Oliveira of Brownsville; Joe Pickett of El Paso; Chente Quintanilla of El Paso; Richard Pena Raymond of Laredo; Ron Reynolds of Missouri City; Eddie Rodriguez of Austin; Mark Strama of Austin; Senfronia Thompson of Houston; Sylvester Turner of Houston; Marc Veasey of Fort Worth; Mike Villarreal of San Antonio; Hubert Vo of Houston; and Armando Walle of Houston.