Election 2018

Election 2018

Election Day: November 6
Early Voting Begins: Monday, Oct. 22
Early Voting Ends: Friday, Nov. 2

Why is this election crucial?

Most of the policy and funding that affects our students and teachers directly is decided by our state Legislature, with additional funding and policy decisions made by the U.S. Congress. Therefore, it’s crucial that we step up and elect friends of schools who will fight for free, democratic public schools in our communities, as well as the resources and policies to help them thrive.

The first step is to vote for friends of public education in the November 6 General Election.

Our endorsed candidates and candidate profiles are below. But here are some other important links:


[sta_anchor id=”endorsements” /]Texas AFT recommends these friends of public education and educators

(This list was updated on October 16. Please note that we will have links to all candidates’ websites shortly.)

Need to know your district and who currently represents you? Check here.

U.S. Senate
Beto O’Rourke

U.S. Congress
Lizzie Pannill Fletcher (CD 7)
Lance Gooden (CD 8)
Mike Siegel (CD 10)
Adrienne Bell (CD 14)
Veronica Escobar (CD 16)
Gina Ortiz Jones (CD 23)
Sylvia Garcia (CD 29)
Colin Allred (CD 32)
Al Green (CD 9)
Vincente Gonzalez (CD 15)
Sheila Jackson Lee (CD 18)
Joaquin Castro (CD 20)
Henry Cuellar (CD 28)
Eddie Bernice Johnson (CD 30)
M.J. Hegar (CD 31)
Marc. Veasey (CD 33)
Filemon Vela (CD 34)
Lloyd Doggett (CD 35)
Sri Preston Kulkurni (CD 22)

Lupe Valdez

Lieutenant Governor
Mike Collier

Attorney General
Justin Nelson

Land Commissioner
Miguel Suazo

State Board of Education

District 2: Ruben Cortez, D-Brownsville

District 12: Suzanne Smith, D-North Dallas/Collin County

District 13: Aicha Davis, Dallas and Tarrant Counties

Texas Senate

(SD = State Senate District)

SD 2: Kendall Scudder, D-Greenville

SD 8: Mark Phariss, D-Plano

SD 10: Beverly Powell, D-Burleson

SD 14: Kirk Watson, D-Austin

SD 15: John Whitmire, D-Houston

SD 16: Nathan Johnson, D-Dallas

SD 17: Rita Lucido, D-Houston

SD 23: Royce West, D-Dallas

SD 25: Steve Kling, D-South Central Texas

SD 31: Kel Seliger, R-Amarillo

Texas House of Representatives

(HD = State House District)

HD 1: Gary Van Deaver, R-New Boston

HD 2: Dan Flynn, R-Van

HD 4: Keith Bell, R-Forney

HD 7:  Jay Dean, R-Longview

HD 8: Cody Harris, R-Palestine

HD 9: Chris Paddie, R-Marshall

HD 10: John Wray, R-Waxahachie

HD 11: Travis Clardy, R-Nacogdoches

HD 14: John Raney, R-Bryan

HD 17: John Cyrier, R-Lockhart

HD 18: Ernest Bailes, R-Coldspring

HD 22: Joe Deshotel, D-Beaumont

HD 26: Sarah DeMerchant, D-Sugar Land

HD 27: Ron Reynolds, D-Missouri City

HD 28: John Zerwas, R-Richmond

HD 31: Ryan Guillen, D-Rio Grande City

HD 32: Todd Hunter, R-Corpus Christi

HD 34: Abel Herrero, D-Robstown

HD 35: Oscar Longoria, D-La Feria

HD 36: Sergio Munoz, D-Mission

HD 38: Eddie Lucio III, D-Brownsville

HD 39: Armando Martinez, D-Weslaco

HD 40: Terry Canales, D-Edinburg

HD 41: Bobby Guerra, D-McAllen

HD 42: Richard Raymond, D-Alice

HD 44: John Kuempel, R-Seguin

HD 46: Sheryl Cole, D-Austin

HD 47: Vikki Goodwin, D-Austin

HD 48: Donna Howard, D-Austin

HD 49: Gina Hinojosa, D-Austin

HD 50: Celia Israel, D-Austin

HD 51: Eddie Rodriguez, D-Austin

HD 52: James Talarico, D-Round Rock

HD 55: Hugh Shine, R-Temple

HD 57: Trent Ashby, R-Lufkin

HD 59: J.D. Sheffield, R-Gatesville

HD 64: Lynn Stucky, R-Sanger

HD 70: Julie Luton, D-McKinney

HD 71: Stan Lambert, R-Abilene

HD 72: Drew Darby, R-Angelo

HD 745: Poncho Nevarez, D-Eagle Pass

HD 75: Mary Gonzalez, D-Clint

HD 76: Cesar Blanco, D-Corpus Christi

HD 77: Lina Ortega, D-El Paso

HD 78: Joe Moody, D-El Paso

HD 79: Joe Pickett, D-El Paso

HD 80: Tracy King, D-Uvalde

HD 84: John Frullo, R-Lubbock

HD 85: Phil Stephenson, R-Rosenberg

HD 87: Four Price, R-Amarillo

HD 88: Ken King, R-Canadian

HD 90: Ramon Romero, Jr, D-Fort Worth

HD 95: Nicole Collier, D-Fort Worth

HD 96: Ryan Ray, D-Fort Worth

HD 99: Charlie Geren, R-Fort Worth

HD 100: Eric Johnson, D-Dallas

HD 101: Chris Turner, D-Arlington

HD 102: Ana Maria Ramos, D-Richardson

HD 103: Rafael Anchia, D-Dallas

HD 104: Jessica Gonzalez, D-Dallas

HD 105: Terry Meza, D-Irving

HD 106: Clint Bedsole, R-Frisco

HD 107: Victoria Neave, D-Dallas

HD 108: Joanna Cattanach, D-Dallas

HD 109: Carl Sherman, D-DeSoto

HD 110: Toni Rose, D-Dallas

HD 111: Yvonne Davis, D-Dallas

HD 112: Brandy Chambers, D-Garland

HD 113: Rhetta Bowers, D-Dallas

HD 114: John Turner, D-Dallas

HD 115: Julie Johnson, D-Dallas

HD 116: Trey Martinez Fischer, D-San Antonio

HD 117: Philip Cortez, D-San Antonio

HD 118: Leo Pacheco, D-San Antonio

HD 119: Roland Gutierrez, D-San Antonio

HD 121: Steve Allison, R-San Antonio

HD 122: Lyle Larson, R-San Antonio

HD 123: Diego Bernal, D-San Antonio

HD 124: Ina Minjarez, D-San Antonio

HD 125: Justin Rodriguez, D-San Antonio

HD 126: Sam Harless, R-Houston

HD 127: Dan Huberty, R-Houston

HD 129: Alex Karjeker, D-Clear Lake

HD 131: Alma Allen, D-Houston

HD 134: Allison Sawyer, D-Houston

HD 135: Jon Rosenthal, D-Houston

HD 136: John Bucy, D-Austin

HD 137: Gene Wu, D-Houston

HD 139: Jarvis Johnson, D-Houston

HD 140: Armando Walle, D-Houston

HD 141: Senfronia Thompson, D-Houston

HD 142: Harold Dutton, D-Houston

HD 143: Ana Hernandez, D-Houston

HD 144: Mary Ann Perez, D-Houston

HD 145: Carol Alvarado, D-Houston

HD 146: Shawn Thierry, D-Houston

HD 147: Garnet Coleman, D-Houston

HD 148: Jessica Farrar, D-Houston

HD 149: Hubert Vo, D-Houston

HD 150: Michael Shawn Kelly, D-Spring

pol. adv. pd. by Texas AFT COPE

[sta_anchor id=”involved” /]More Ways to Get Involved…


[sta_anchor id=”issues” /]And Here are some of the issues that will define true friends of public education:


School Bus and Kids

Adequate and equitable school funding
… And making the state pay its fair share to alleviate rising property taxes
(Candidates should support)

Secure retirement for public employees

(Candidates should support)

Health care for school employees Health care for active and retired school employees  

(Candidates should support)

Bubble sheet State testing, test-based sanctions, and A-F ratings
(Candidates should support changes)
Private-school vouchers
(Candidates should oppose)
Charter school

Charter school expansion
(Candidates should oppose)