Lieutenant governor creates working groups to address impacts of pandemic

Last week, Lt. Gov. Dan Patrick announced the creation of six Senate working groups to address the challenges the state will face as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic. Each group will be responsible for focusing on a different area of Texas state government that has been affected by the pandemic and will craft a plan to successfully restore these areas to pre-pandemic conditions while also preparing them for future pandemics. The different groups include: Economic Impact & Budgeting, Senate Pandemic Preparedness, Public Schools & Higher Ed, Health, Hospitals & COVID-19 Issues, Jobs & Re-Opening the Economy, and Food Supply Chain, Food Banks & Agriculture. 

 The Public Schools & Higher Ed working group includes Senators Larry Taylor (R-Friendswood), Royce West (D-Dallas), Eddie Lucio, Jr. (D-Brownsville), Brandon Creighton (R-Conroe), Angela Paxton (R-McKinney), and Beverly Powell (D-Burleson). The committee includes the chairs of the Senate Committees on Education and Higher Education (Taylor and Creighton, respectively) as well as the vice-chairs for the Education and Higher Education Committees (Lucio and West, respectively.) The working group is entirely composed of members of those two committees. 

Tags: ,