Speaker and Lt. Gov. announce committee assignments for the 87th Legislative Session

Lt. Gov. Dan Patrick appointed senators to 15 standing state Senate committees and two special committees for the legislative session. All but one committee will be chaired by Republicans. Sen. John Whitmire (D-Houston) the longest serving senator, will chair the Senate Criminal Justice committee. Sen. Larry Taylor (R-Friendswood), who served as the chair for the Education Committee last session, will continue as chair.

Yesterday,  House Speaker Rep. Dade Phelan announced assignments for the House‚Äôs 34 committees. Perhaps the most consequential assignment for educators is the replacement of Rep. Dan Huberty (R-Houston) with Rep. Harold Dutton (D-Houston) as the chair of the Public Education Committee.

Another significant change in committee leadership came with the replacement of Rep. Giovanni Capriglione (R-Southlake) with Rep. Greg Bonnen (R-Friendswood) as the chair of the powerful House Appropriations Committee. Public education ally Mary Gonzalez (D-Clint) was assigned as the vice-chair.