Texas AFT is governed by an Executive Council of local union presidents across the state. Officers (president and secretary-treasurer) are elected every two years by delegates at our union’s state convention.

President Zeph Capo

Headshot of Zeph with a blue background. He's smiling and wearing a collard shirt.
President Zeph Capo

Zeph Capo is the current president of the Texas American Federation of Teachers. Previously, he was the president of the Houston Federation of Teachers.

Capo believes that a quality public education and old-fashioned hard work are requirements for a robust economy, and public schools are the key to a robust civil society. Before becoming a union leader, Capo was a science teacher.

Capo is known for his honest and direct approach to solving issues and building lasting relationships in the communities he serves. In 2011, he spearheaded community meetings to develop a paradigm in how neighborhoods can effect change in a community. Capo believes in strengthening the school-to-work pipeline and dismantling the cradle-to-prison pipeline. To do so, he believes we must improve the learning conditions for our students which also happen to be the teaching conditions of our members.

Capo has served on several community boards that have added perspective and developed cross-sector relationships that will benefit Texas AFT as we forge a new direction. Texas AFT must invest the time to listen to our leaders and members on the ground and be committed to building a shared vision for our future.

Secretary-Treasurer Ray McMurrey

Headshot of Ray with a blue background. He's smiling and wearing a vest over a collared shirt.
Secretary-Treasurer Ray McMurrey

Ray McMurrey is the current secretary-treasurer of the Texas American Federation of Teachers. He is a former president of the Corpus Christi American Federation of Teachers, which was also the home of two former Texas AFT presidents: John Cole and Linda Bridges.

Before serving as the four-term president of CCAFT and elected president of the Coastal Bend Labor Council, he was an 18-year secondary social studies teacher. His teaching experience included seven years in Eagle Pass ISD, along the Texas-Mexico border, and 11 years in Corpus Christi ISD. McMurrey graduated from St. Edward’s University in 1991.