Texas AFT Passes Resolution Demanding Sen. Ted Cruz Resign

Jan. 14, 2021 — The Texas AFT Executive Council passed a resolution today demanding that U.S. Sen. Ted Cruz (R-Texas) immediately resign, calling his actions involving the Jan. 6, 2021, mob riot and coup attempt at the U.S. Capitol dangerous, irresponsible, and reckless. The Texas AFT Executive Council demands his immediate resignation.

Statement from Texas AFT President Zeph Capo

“On Wednesday, Jan. 6, U.S. Sen. Ted Cruz was a key player in an attempted violent coup of our democratic system of government that resulted in five people being killed and disrupted almost 250 years of peaceful transitions of power within our government. People of good conscience must hold our leaders accountable and therefore, we demand Sen. Cruz’s immediate resignation. Sen. Cruz’s reckless grandstanding and incitement of insurrection against the United States of America and its democratic ideals were pivotal in the dissemination of disinformation and violence. His actions make him complicit in the deaths of two law enforcement officers and injuries to scores of others, as well as in the willful desecration of our democratic institutions. Sen. Cruz should no longer be permitted to hold the exalted position as one of 100 U.S. Senators.

Texas AFT is also calling for the resignation of President Donald J. Trump, who incited insurrection against our nation before thousands of people stormed the U.S. Capitol and left mayhem, destruction, injuries and deaths in their wake, as well as attempted to shred our Constitution in the pursuit of overturning a fair and free election. Texas AFT also is calling for the resignation of the 16 members of the U.S. House of Representatives’ Texas delegation who voted to overturn the legitimate certification of the 2020 presidential electoral ballots.”

Texas AFT Resolution

Texas AFT Calls for Resignation of Federal Office Holders Who Incited Capitol Riot

WHEREAS, In 1788 James Madison wrote, “An elective despotism was not the government we fought for; but one in which the powers of government should be so divided and balanced among the several bodies of magistracy as that no one could transcend their legal limits without being effectually checked and restrained by the others.” and;

WHEREAS, James Wilson, in 1790 on the study of law, said, “Without liberty, law loses its nature and its name, and becomes oppression. Without law, liberty also loses its nature and its name, and becomes licentiousness.” and;

WHEREAS, on Jan. 6, 2021, President Donald Trump violated his oath of office by encouraging Vice President Mike Pence to overturn a free and fair election, and;

WHEREAS, on Jan. 6, 2021 President Donald Trump incited a riot and insurrection by exhorting thousands of his supporters by saying, “We will never give up; we will never concede … We will stop the steal. We’re going to walk down Pennsylvania Avenue, and we’re going to the Capitol … We’re going to try and give our Republicans, the weak ones … the kind of pride and boldness that they need to take back our country,” and;

WHEREAS, on Jan. 6, 2021, Texas Senator Ted Cruz, on the Senate floor, acted in bad faith by espousing fringe theories and blatant disinformation to challenge the legitimacy of the 2020 election results, and;

WHEREAS, during the period between the November 2020 election and Jan. 6, 2021, Texas Sen. Ted Cruz was one of the most prominent and vocal Trump defenders, claiming inaccurately that the 2020 presidential election was fraudulent. He sent out fundraising emails and text messages with a call to overturn a duly held and legally certified election, and;

WHEREAS, Texas Sen. Ted Cruz lodged bad-faith objections to the certification of the electoral votes of the State of Arizona without sufficient evidence, and failed to discharge his duties as a United States senator to open and count the electoral votes as outlined in the 12th amendment, and;

WHEREAS, Texas Sen. Ted Cruz, in violation of his oath to uphold the Constitution, exhorted his Senate and House colleagues to vote against the legal certification of Joe Biden’s and Kamala Harris’ certification as President and Vice President, and so be it:

RESOLVED, that Texas AFT calls for the resignation of federal elected leaders, including Sen. Ted Cruz and President Donald Trump, who violated their oaths to uphold the Constitution and ensure domestic tranquility by inciting a riot in the United States Capitol on Jan. 6, 2021, and;

RESOLVED, that Texas AFT further calls for the resignation of members of the Texas congressional delegation in the United States House of Representatives who voted to sustain bad-faith objections to the constitutional certification of electoral votes, including Rep. Louie Gohmert, (R-1), Rep. Pat Fallon, (R-4), Rep. Lance Gooden, (R-5), Rep. Ron Wright, (R-6), Rep. August Pfluger, (R-11), Rep. Ronny Jackson, (R-13), Rep. Randy Weber, (R- 14), Rep. Pete Sessions, (R-17), Rep. Jodey Arrington, (R-19), Rep. Troy Nehls, (R-22), Rep. Roger Williams, (R-25), Rep. Michael Burgess, (R-26), Rep. Michael Cloud, (R-27), Rep. John Carter, (R-31), Rep. Brian Babin, (R-36), Rep. Beth Van Duyne, (R- 24), and;

RESOLVED, that Texas AFT renews its commitment to hold elected leaders accountable to their oaths to uphold, protect, and defend the Constitution of the United States of America.

Adopted Jan. 14, 2021