Texas AFT Primary Endorsements 2018

Texas AFT serves as a watchdog for you on the legislative and political process, sorting out which officeholders and candidates for office don’t just talk the talk but actually stand up for public education, Texas students and their families, and the educators and staff of our schools and colleges. Texas AFT supports candidates who meet these criteria regardless of party.

In the March 6 party primaries, for which early voting starts February 20 and runs through March 2, Texas AFT’s Committee on Political Education recommends 26 candidates in contested Republican races and 26 candidates in contested Democratic races as follows (and a few more late-breaking endorsements may add to the list before the voting starts):​

Contested Races in March 6 Primaries

Need to know your district and who currently represents you? Check here.

U.S. House of Representatives

(CD = U.S. Congressional District)

CD 16: Veronica Escobar, D-El Paso

CD 29: Sylvia Garcia, D-Houston

CD 33: Marc Veasey, D-Fort Worth

Lieutenant Governor

Scott Milder, R-Rockwall

Mike Collier, D-Houston

State Board of Education

District 2: Ruben Cortez, D-Brownsville

Texas Senate

(SD = State Senate District)

SD 10: Beverly Powell, D-Burleson

SD 15: John Whitmire, D-Houston

SD 16: Nathan Johnson, D-Dallas

SD 17: Kristin Tassin, R-Missouri City

SD 25: Shannon McClendon, R-Dripping Springs

SD 30: Craig Estes, R-Wichita Falls

SD 31: Kel Seliger, R-Amarillo

Texas House of Representatives

(HD = State House District)

HD 2: Dan Flynn, R-Van

HD 4: Ashley McKee, R-Eustace

HD 6: Ted Kamel, R-Tyler

HD 8 (dual): Cody Harris, R-Palestine, and Linda Timmerman, R-Corsicana

HD 9: Chris Paddie, R-Marshall

HD 14: John Raney, R-Bryan

HD 15: Jackie Waters, R-The Woodlands

HD 27: Ron Reynolds, D-Missouri City

HD 31: Ryan Guillen, D-Rio Grande City

HD 37: Rene Oliveira, D-Brownsville

HD 41: Bobby Guerra, D-McAllen

HD 54: Scott Cosper, R-Killeen

HD 55: Hugh Shine, R-Temple

HD 59: J.D. Sheffield, R-Gatesville

HD 60: Jim Largent, R-Granbury

HD 64: Lynn Stucky, R-Sanger

HD 75: Mary Gonzalez, D-Clint

HD 87: Four Price, R-Amarillo

HD 88: Ken King, R-Canadian

HD 99: Charlie Geren, R-Fort Worth

HD 100: Eric Johnson, D-Dallas

HD 104: Roberto Alonzo, D-Dallas

HD 105: Terry Meza, D-Irving

HD 115: Julie Johnson, D-Dallas

HD 116: Diana Arevalo, D-San Antonio

HD 117: Philip Cortez, D-San Antonio

HD 118: Tomas Uresti, D-San Antonio

HD 121: Steve Allison, R-San Antonio

HD 122: Lyle Larson, R-San Antonio

HD 124: Ina Minjarez, D-San Antonio

HD 126: Sam Harless, R-Houston

HD 127: Dan Huberty, R-Houston

HD 138: Jenifer Rene Pool, D-Houston

HD 139: Jarvis Johnson, D-Houston

HD 142: Harold Dutton, D-Houston

HD 146: Shawn Thierry, D-Houston

HD 147: Garnet Coleman, D-Houston

HD 150: James Wilson, R-Houston

pol. adv. pd. by Texas AFT COPE