Attack on Your Economic Freedom: Update

HB 510, the Texas House version of the bill to take away your freedom to have your organizational dues deducted from your paycheck, has been referred to the House State Affairs Committee for review. This bill by Rep. Sarah Davis (R-Houston) resembles legislation that died in the House State Affairs Committee in 2015. The 13-member committee this session is made up of the following House members:

Byron Cook, chair (R-Corsicana)
Helen Giddings, vice-chair (D-Dallas)
Tom Craddick (R-Midland)
Jessica Farrar (D-Houston)
Charlie Geren (R-Fort Worth)
Ryan Guillen (D-Rio Grande City)
Ken King (R-Canadian)
John Kuempel (R-Seguin)
Morgan Meyer (R-Dallas)
Rene Oliveira (D-Brownsville)
Chris Paddie (R-Marshall)
Eddie Rodriguez (D-Austin)
John Smithee (R-Amarillo)

If you are in the home district of one of these 13 House members, you are hereby declared a VIP in the fight to defend the freedom of all public employees in Texas to decide for themselves what deductions will be made from their paychecks.  All Texas AFT members, and especially constituents of the 13 House members named above, are encouraged to send a message via the Texas AFT website urging them to oppose HB 510 and its Senate companion, SB 13 by Sen. Joan Huffman (R-Houston).

SB 13, by the way, which passed in Senate committee on February 16 on a contested vote, has not yet been slated for action on the Senate floor.